Pujols given top honor by his peers

Pujols given top honor by his peers

Players Choice Awards have become habit forming for Albert Pujols.

For the second straight day, the Cardinals slugger was recognized by his peers.

Pujols on Friday was named Player of the Year in a vote by the MLB Players Association. The high praise is bestowed to just one player, regardless of league.

On Thursday, Pujols claimed the Players Choice Award for Outstanding Player in the National League.

Along with Pujols on Friday, Detroit center fielder Curtis Granderson claimed one of the league's highest honors.

Granderson is the winner of the prestigious Marvin Miller Man of the Year Award for his work on and off the field.

The announcements were made on ESPN Radio's Mike & Mike in the Morning show, which airs daily from 6 a.m.-10 a.m. ET. A Players Choice winner was revealed each day this week on the show.

Friday's winners highlighted the week, because they were given to players regardless of league. On behalf of Pujols and Granderson, the Major League Baseball Players Trust will honor Pujols and Granderson with donations of $50,000 each to the charities of their choice.

A favorite to be named the National League's MVP, Pujols is an eight-time Players Choice Award winner. The Cardinals first baseman paced the Major Leagues with 47 home runs.

Across the board, Pujols' numbers were astonishing -- 124 runs scored, .443 on-base and .658 slugging percentages. He batted .327 with 45 doubles and 135 RBIs.

The 29-year-old has now hit at least .300 with 30 or more homers and 100-plus RBIs in nine consecutive seasons.

Pujols' long list of Players Choice Awards include Player of the Year and NL Outstanding Player in 2003, 2008 and 2009, Marvin Miller Man of the Year in 2006 and NL Outstanding Rookie in 2001.

Players Choice Awards annually recognize the best player, pitcher, rookie and comeback player in each league. The Player of the Year and Marvin Miller Man of the Year awards are awarded to one player.

All Major League players voted in September for the Players Choice Awards.

The 2009 Players Choice Awards winners are:

American League:

  • Outstanding Rookie: Gordon Beckham (Chicago White Sox)
  • Comeback Player: Aaron Hill (Toronto)
  • Outstanding Pitcher: Zack Greinke (Kansas City)
  • Outstanding Player: Joe Mauer (Minnesota)

    National League:

  • Outstanding Rookie: J.A. Happ (Philadelphia)
  • Comeback Player: Chris Carpenter (St. Louis)
  • Outstanding Pitcher: Adam Wainwright (St. Louis)
  • Outstanding Player: Albert Pujols (St. Louis)

    Either League:

  • Man of the Year: Curtis Granderson (Detroit)
  • Player of Year: Albert Pujols (St. Louis)

    Players Choice Awards winners will recommend the charities of their choice to receive grants from the Major League Baseball Players Trust totaling $260,000. Since 1992, the Players Trust has contributed more than $3.5 million to charities around the world in honor of Players Choice Award winners.

  • Joe Frisaro is a reporter for MLB.com. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.