After a two-minute, 54-second review of the play by an umpire in New York City, crew chief Ted Barrett relayed that there was not clear and convincing evidence to overturn the call. By letting it stand, Holliday was ruled the first out of the inning and Matheny used his lone challenge with a four-run lead.
It was the fifth time Matheny has challenged a call this season. Only one of those calls has so far been overturned through the replay review process.
Jenifer Langosch is a reporter for MLB.com. Read her blog, By Gosh, It's Langosch, and follow her on Twitter @LangoschMLB. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.