Cardinals don't make any roster changes for NLCS

Cardinals don't make any roster changes for NLCS

SAN FRANCISCO -- Manager Mike Matheny announced on Saturday that the Cardinals' 25-man roster will remain unchanged as the club moves on to the National League Championship Series against the Giants.

That comes as no surprise given that the Cardinals already replaced an injured Jaime Garcia during the middle of their Division Series against Washington. In doing so, a spot opened up for rookie reliever Shelby Miller, whom the Cards have opted to retain instead of adding a second left-hander to the bullpen mix.


The Cardinals also confirmed that they will stick with a four-man rotation led by Game 1 starter Lance Lynn. He'll be followed, in order, by Chris Carpenter, Kyle Lohse and Adam Wainwright. None of the four will make a start on short rest, meaning the rotation will turn over in the same order should the series extend beyond four games.

Here is the rest of the Cardinals' NLCS roster breakdown:

Relievers: Jason Motte, Mitchell Boggs, Edward Mujica, Joe Kelly, Trevor Rosenthal, Marc Rzepczynski, Fernando Salas, Shelby Miller.

Catchers: Yadier Molina, Tony Cruz.

Infielders: David Freese, Pete Kozma, Daniel Descalso, Allen Craig, Matt Carpenter, Skip Schumaker.

Outfielders: Matt Holliday, Jon Jay, Carlos Beltran, Shane Robinson, Adron Chambers.