Cards' Molina headlines Fielding Bible winners

Cards' Molina headlines Fielding Bible winners

The winners of the 2010 Fielding Bible Awards were announced on Monday, with Cardinals catcher Yadier Molina headlining the nine award-winners with the first unanimous win in the award's five-year history.

The Fielding Bible Awards, which are voted on by a panel of 10 analysts, including Peter Gammons, John Dewan, Rob Neyer, Joe Posnanski and Bill James, examined the 2010 seasons of every defensive player in Major League Baseball, and then used the same voting technique as Most Valuable Player voting. First-place votes received 10 points, meaning the maximum score possible was 100, which is what Molina received to win his fourth straight award.

The awards differ from the Gold Glove Awards, as there is only one winner at each position, including separate recognition for each outfield position, instead of separate winners for each league.

Molina was joined as a repeat winner by Mariners right fielder Ichiro Suzuki, who has won the award three times, and Rockies shortstop Troy Tulowitzki and White Sox pitcher Mark Buehrle, who have both been honored twice.

First-time winners include A's first baseman Daric Barton, Phillies second baseman Chase Utley, Rays third baseman Evan Longoria, Yankees left fielder Brett Gardner and Astros center fielder Michael Bourn.

Here are the results of the 2010 Fielding Bible Awards:

Catcher: Yadier Molina, Cardinals (100 points)
First Base: Daric Barton, A's (86 points)
Second Base: Chase Utley, Phillies (86 points)
Shortstop: Troy Tulowitzki, Rockies (97 points)
Third Base: Evan Longoria, Rays (92 points)
Left Field: Brett Gardner, Yankees (96 points)
Center Field: Michael Bourn, Astros (91 points)
Right Field: Ichiro Suzuki, Mariners (92 points)
Pitcher: Mark Buehrle, White Sox (86 points)

Rhett Bollinger is a reporter for This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.